What I read in July

13712099_1072362939512190_331054331_n 13724676_302507953436253_114216701_n

 

I was off from work for 3 weeks in July which meant I got lots of reading done! 4 YA books and 2  by people of colour.

I would say that the most important book out of all of them was The fire this time: a new generation speaks about race. National Book Award winner Jesmyn Ward has used James Baldwins The Fire Next Time from 1963 as a jumping off point and collected essays by a truly stellar group of writers. Readers will come to this book for different reasons. For me, as a white woman in Sweden, it is books like this that are invaluable in trying to understand the experiences of black men and women in America.

 

The book I literally dropped everything for when receiving the arc was Tell the truth, shame the devil by Melina Marchetta. I knew nothing about it before starting to read (it´s Melina Marchetta, what else do you need to know?!). It´s not out until October so more thoughts will come closer to release date.

 

I read one Swedish book in July and that was a book called I mitt namn: en bok om att vara trans by Moa-Lina Olbers Croall. The book is a collection of interviews with young trans people living in Sweden. It gives great insight into what it´s like to live as a trans person in a society that is so stuck in the traditional two gender system. I´m lucky enough to be interviewing the author about the book at my work later this fall.

 

The three romance novels I read were Taking the heat by Victoria Dahl, A Duke to remember by Kelly Bowen and The madness of Lord Ian McKenzie by Jennifer Ashley. I defenitely enjoyed all three of them though I seem to prefer the two historicals, though Victoria Dahls has a heroine who is a virgin which is quite unusual in contemporaries. It was handled well and it was an aspect that I appreciated. Most surprising was A duke to remember, I requested it on a whim on Edelweiss and it turned out being one of my favourite romances in a while. I will defenitely be reading more by Kelly Bowen!

 

I don´t read a whole of science fiction these days but C.A Higgins duology, Lightless and Supernova are really fantastic. Drama, suspence and action in deep space!

 

Just in time for the Olympics (of which I´m not interested in at all) came Megan Abbotts You will know me. Abbott is a genious at dark and twisted stories with teenage girls in the center and this is no exception.

