Good books, bad covers

I love the book East of Eden by John Steinbeck. The first time I read it I was in the middle of nowhere in the French country side. It was just me, the rolling hills, and the book.

Unfortunately my copy of the book has an awful cover, and I mean really awful, which breaks my heart because a great book should have a great cover.117715

Here are some other good books where the cover leaves something to be required.

The original cover of Shatter me by Tahereh Mafi. They later changed the cover and it was fantastic. What was it so difficult the first time around?

10429045




 

 

 

 

 

 

The Swedish version of We were liars by E. Lockhart (Kanske är det allt du behöver veta). There are several things that bother me with this cover. The plastic feel to it, the colouring, the strange collage feel. There´just nothing I like about it. Sorry.

Kanske-ar-det-allt_framsida_slutversion-140805

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Carry on by Rainbow Rowell. Previous books by Rainbow Rowell have been recognizable in their style and I´ve liked them all. For Carry on they went down a very different path and I don´t like it.

23734628

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Saving Francesca by Melina Marchetta. This is a great book but the cover image is terrible and is more fitting in a magazine ad than a book cover.  Compare with the Swedish cover which is much better.

11103838

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Delirium series by Lauren Oliver (later on they changed the cover but these first ones were terrible). Once again a close-up of a pretty girl that tells nothing of the actual book. Yawn.

11614718

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Across the universe by Beth Revis (even when they changed the covers they just couldn´t get it right). These covers give the completely wrong message of the book. You would think, by the cover, that the romance between two characters is central to the plot. That is not the case at all. It is much more about secrets and mysteries and dirty politics – in space!

8235178

