Maggot Moon by Sally Gardner

14060279

 

THIS BOOK!!!!

I´ve had this book in my bookshelf for at least two years (it was released in 2012) and I´m kicking myself for not having read it earlier. It was so weird and wonderful and amazing.

Our main character is 15-year old Standish Treadwell. He lives with his grandfather in an unnamed country, the totalitarian government of “The Motherland” keeps all the “impure” in ghettos where they scrape by for a living. Standish can barely read or write; he is not bright. But he has an imagination the size of the universe. When his only friend Hector disappears Standish is determined to do something about it.

Meanwhile The Motherland is invested in a propaganda filled space race where the moon landing is set to be aired live.

The chapters are short, the sentences brief but each chapter is packed full of weight. At times brutal but utterly enthralling it shows that the person least expected to be of any consequence is the most important person in the world.

I´m not sure what I was expecting when I started reading this but it certainly wasn´t this, it blew me away. Sally Gardner has created a marvel and won the Costa Award for this book, rightfully so!

Skärmavbild 2015-07-11 kl. 16.51.46

