I crawl through it – A.S King

23203744

Skärmavbild 2015-07-11 kl. 16.42.10

Well this was an unusual book. Weird and surreal and utterly unique. I will be honest, for a long time I despaired. I read and read and wondered what the hell was going on and it was only my love of A.S King that kept me going. And it payed off! It got better. Somewhere along the way I started to, well not understand really but, I started to enjoy it nonetheless. It´s possible that the most surreal parts are in the beginning of the book or that I just got used to them.

This book is definitely not for everyone. You have to be okay with letting go of rational thought (of course they´re flying in an invisible helicopter!) But those who are able to do that and pull all the way through are in for a ride. For the rest of you I would recommend reading King´s other books because she really is great 🙂

Four talented teenagers are traumatized-coping with grief, surviving trauma, facing the anxiety of standardized tests and the neglect of self-absorbed adults–and they’ll do anything to escape the pressure. They’ll even build an invisible helicopter, to fly far away to a place where everyone will understand them… until they learn the only way to escape reality is to fly right into it.

