Everything, everything – Nicola Yoon

24040562

Skärmavbild 2015-07-11 kl. 16.42.10

Full disclosure, it was the cover that did it. It´s just such a fantastic cover. This has been a buzz book, I heard about it all over the place and the publishers seem to be pushing for it all over the place, so props for them.

It was an intriguing book, I enjoyed learning about the illness (SCID) that Madeline had, an illness that was all but unknown to me. It was an interesting concept, how do you write a YA love story where one of the protagonists is allergic to everything? Due to her illness Madeline has been cut off from from the world, trapped in her house and very rarely interacting with anyone who isn´t her mother or her nurse.

But then he arrives, he with a capital H. The two of them connect first through the wonders of internet chat and then, after much hesitation from the nurse, in real life. And they fall in love, surprise!

Up until now Madeline has accepted her lot in life, she has accepted that she will never go outside, never have a real life. But with the introduction of Olly she begins to realise everything she´s missing. And she starts to think that maybe she´s not okay with living her life trapped in her house.

It wasn´t a book that surprised me, not even the ending which I know surprised some people. All in all an interesting look into an illness I knew nothing about and a cute little story of love and life.

Thank you to Delacorte Press for providing a copy via NetGalley.

My disease is as rare as it is famous. It’s a form of Severe Combined Immunodeficiency, but basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in fifteen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives. New next door neighbors. I look out the window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black t-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly. I want to learn everything about him, and I do. I learn that he is funny and fierce. I learn that his eyes are Atlantic Ocean-blue and that his vice is stealing silverware. I learn that when I talk to him, my whole world opens up, and I feel myself starting to change—starting to want things. To want out of my bubble. To want everything, everything the world has to offer.

