The beginning of everything by Robyn Schneider

beginningofeverything

A single moment can change everything. That is something that Ezra, the protagonist of the story, is keenly aware of. A reckless driver hitting his car at full speed resulting in a shattered knee is what changed everything for Ezra. His hopes for an athletic career and his social life were in ruins. Starting school after the summer Ezra is struggling to find his new place in school, amongst old and new friends, and in life in general. This is where Cassidy walks into the picture. She´s the new girl in school and he is smitten from the start. But he is also mystified by her for she comes with secrets and hurts of her own.

I wanted to like this book more than I did. In the beginning it was promising. At one point I even stated that it reminded me of John Greens books.  Having read more it´s more like a trying-to-be-john-green-but-failing. After the first 100 pages it all went downhill and I had to force myself to read it all the way through. I just wasn´t able to connect with any of the characters. I simply didn´t care what happened to them. Forgetting the characters for a minute there was also nothing in the story that gripped me. What was the point of it all?

That being said, the writing was very well done and flows perfectly. It´s the story and character that don´t work, kind of a big part of a book.

