Darkest Fear by Cate Tiernan

tiernan

Cate Tiernans Immortal Beloved series is one of my absolute favorite. So when I saw that she was coming out with a new book I was very pleased. I was even more pleased when the nice people at Simon Pulse gave me an arc of it through Edelweiss. The story revolves around Vivi who since she was 13 has known that she come from a long line of haguari, also known as jaguars. Since her parents revealed the truth to her she has faught it every step of the wasy, refusing to accept her otherness.

On the night of her 18th birthday she and her parents are attacked by other jaguars and her parents are brutally killed leaving Vivi adrift in a sea of pain and guilt. By chance she discovers family in New Orleans she didn´t know she had and, needing to escape the home she shared with her parents she escapes to New Orleans where she finds friends, family and the beginnings of accepting her jaguar heritage.

I liked this book, I really did. Up until the very peculiar ending. I´m not even sure I would call it an ending of a book, more like an ending to a chapter. I´m still wondering if maybe the arc they sent me was incomplete. It was the most abrupt ending I´ve ever read which is a shame because the story as a whole was very good and I would have liked to read more.

