Code Name Verity – Elizabeth Wein

verity2

 

Right after finishing this book I sent a message to a friend. The message was:

Skärmavbild 2013-08-02 kl. 21.49.23

I still can´t put into words what I felt while reading this book. What it still makes me feel. It was magnificent, maybe even genius?

 

– Elizabeth Wein (the brilliant author) is a pilot herself and a woman. She states in the afterword that she wanted to explore what that would be like during the WW2. This is interesting not just because there were so few female pilots but also because even though women were called upon to do their duty for the war effort they weren´t ranked as highly as their male colleagues (sound familiar?). For that reason alone this story is a gift. To show that many women did fight. They went to war with all kinds of different duties and did a great number of things – history sometimes forgets that.

– Freindship. “It’s like being in love, discovering your best friend.” These two adore each other, best friends from the start. Each knowing that if it hadn´t been for the war they probably would not have met. And yet one of them, I can´t remember which, states with absolute certainty that they would indeed have met. It is too inconceivable for them not to meet and become best friends. And this is another reason why I love this book. For me, the friendships with other women have often been some of the most important relationships in my life and I felt like this book celebrated that.

I could go on and on about this book but I don´t want to give too much away  since you are going to read it.  Extraordinary, brilliant, beautiful, captivating and absolutely sensational.

During the Second World War my grandfather (my mothers father) spent some time working at Bletchley Park. For those of you unfamiliar with it, Bletchley Park was the top secret site for the UK´s main decryption establishment. Ciphers and codes of several enemy countries were decoded. Most importantly the ciphers generated by the German Enigma and Lorenz machines. You may have heard of /seen the film Enigma which is supposed to take place at Bletchley. According to my grandfather the film was not very accurate 😉   Anyway, the importance of the codebreaking that was done at Bletchley can not be underestimated. And from the moment I finished this book, when you say “code” I will think of Verity.

