Reached by Ally Condie

reaced

Reached is the third and final book in the trilogy by Ally Condie. The plot is this: Cassia, Xander and Ky are separated, all helping the Rising in their own way. Xander is a medic at a hospital distributing a cure for a plague that is spreading throughout the land. Ky is a pilot working for The Rising aka the rebellion and Cassia is back in the Society working undercover for The Rising. While the first book in the series, Matched, was very much inside the Society in this book that same Society is unraveled due to a plague that is spreading. The Rising think they have the cure but, as it turns out, they are not as in control as they thought. In the end both The Society and The Rising who fought against it are in jeopardy.

This book took me a very long time to read. That´s not a good sign. There may be some real life reasons to factor in but I believe  one big reason is that the story is told from three different perspectives. THREE!! Why Ally? Why?! The chapters weren´t even that long. I felt like the minute I began to “get into” the character, where she or he was I had to leave and get into the mind of someone else.

One thing I am very glad over is that the author didn´t get let the characters be drawn into the love triangle that so many authors are prone to. Yes, there is a love triangle of sorts but it is always in the background. They have bigger and more important things to worry about than who will end up with whom.

Ally Condie is a very good writer indeed, there is no doubt about it, but the plot didn´t suck me in. I read it and turned the pages dutifully but I never felt that I needed to keep reading. I didn´t have to know how the story ended. Which gives it a slightly anticlimatic feel to the whole thing.

