Jellicoe Road – Melina Marchetta

Skärmavbild 2013-01-09 kl. 21.33.37

This is one of those books that I´ve been meaning to read for ages and now that I finally have my first thought is to wonder why the hell I didn´t read it sooner! My second thought is that I need to read it again, immediately, to catch all the details I missed the first time around. And to swoon over Taylor and Jonah some more.

A fair warning, the beginning is a bit confusing. But part of what I love about it is that when you realize what´s going on, when you see the magic that is Jellicoe Road, you know that the pages of confusion in the beginning were very much worth it.

The story is about Taylor Markham who was abandoned by her mother at a young age and now lives in a boarding school with other kids that are neglected, abandoned or otherwise troubled. She is not very close to anyone except Hannah, a woman who lives on the edge of the school grounds. Each year territory war games are played by the children in the school against the Townies and the Cadets, and this year, Taylor is elected the leader. She tries to balance that responsibility with the sudden disappearance of Hannah and the reemergence of Jonah Griggs, the leader of the Cadets, and a boy from her past.

And then there is the other story of the five young girls and boys. It is a manuscript, written by Hannah of events that start with a terrible car crash. The five survivors all become integral parts of each others lives. As you can probably guess their story is also connected to Taylors. I won´t say any more on that subject, or anything else really. Oh, one last thing; to top it all off this book is chock full of memorable quotes. Quotes that I want to have embroider and hang on the wall or write down and keep with me in my wallet. Here are some examples.

“You´re are my priority. Your happiness, in som fucked up way is tuned in to mine. Get that through your thick skull. Would I like it any other way? Hell, yes, but I don´t think that will be happening in my lifetime.”

“It´s funny how you can forget everything except people loving you. Maybe that´s why humans find it so hard getting over love affairs. It´s not the pain they´re getting over, it´s the love.”

“´What do you want from me?´ he asks. What I want from every person in my life, I want to tell him. More”.

“What´s the difference between a trip and a journey?… When we get there, you´ll understand.”

Not bad huh? But don´t take my word for it. Read Jellicoe Road. Now.

